Scottish Care announce winners of 2019 care home awards

Scottish Care, the representative body for Scotland’s independent care home sector, has announced the winners of their annual National Care Home Awards which took place this year on Friday 15 November at the Hilton Hotel in Glasgow.

The awards, which formed part of the National Care Home Conference and Exhibition, took place on 15 November 2019 at the Hilton Hotel in Glasgow and recognised outstanding contributions from providers all over Scotland.

This years winners and finalists are as follows:

  • Ancillary & Support Staff Award
    Winner: Jackie Kennedy – Erskine Park Home
    Finalists: Christine Massie – Fordmill Nursing Home & Anne Huges – Morningside Care Home
  • Nutrition & Eating Well Award
    Winner: Marie Hunter – Thorntoun Estate Nursing Home
    Finalists: Iain Young – Murrayside Care Home & Lizzy McNielage – Rumbling Bridge Care Home

  • Meaningful Activity Award
    Winner: Activity Team – Charnwood Lodge Care Home
    Finalists: Sheila Baxter – Beech Manor Care Home & Erskine Care Team – Erskine Park Home/ The Erskine Home
  • Training, Learning & Staff Development Award
    Winner: Bandrum Management Team – Bandrum Nursing Home
    Finalists: Lynn Hewetson – Erskine Park Home & Margaret Campbell – Blar Buidhe Care Home
  • Emerging Talent Award
    Winner: Ben Haddow – Balhousie Luncarty
    Finalists: Ross Milne – The Birches & Anthony Mangonon – Berelands House Care Home
  • Outstanding Achievement Award
    Winner: Jane Williams – Florence House

  • Management & Leadership Award
    Winner: Yvonne Manson – Balhousie Care Group
    Finalists: Kirsty Faulds – Kyle Court & Teresa Mangonon – Berelands House Care Home
  • Palliative & End of Life Care Practise Award
    Winner: Eric Cordiner – Four Hills Care Home
    Finalists: Greencross Care Home & Precious Time Project Team Antonine House Care Home
  • Nurse of the Year Award
    Winner: Jenny Coutts – Tor-Na-Dee Care Home
    Finalists: Linda Mason – Laurels Lodge Care Home & Moira Craig – Hatton Lea
  • Carer of the Year
    Winner: Lavinia Tanu – Balhousie Pitlochry (pictured)
    Finalists: Rosie Martinez – Jenny’s Well Care Home & Vicky Purves – Murray House, Queens House Care Home
  • Specialist Service/Unit of the Year Award
    Winner: The Oaks Care Home
    Finalists: Meadowview Unit – Bandrum Nursing Home & Jenny’s Well Care Home
  • Care Home Service of the Year
    Winner: Queens House (Kelso) Ltd.
    Finalists: Morningside Care Home & Abbeyfield Ballchulish
  • Positive Impact Award
    Winner: Pat Gibson – Braeside House
    Finalists: McLelland Unit – Douglas View & Diana Moles – Bandrum Nursing Home
  • Special Recognition Award
    Winner: Robert Kilgour – Renaissance Care

For more on the awards and images of all this years winners, click here.

Picture – Winner and Finalists with Michelle McManus and Justin Hutchens – HC-One (Award Sponsor) – (c) Scottish Care.