Scottish Care announce finalists for their National Care Home Awards 2019

Scottish Care, the representative body for Scotland’s independent care home sector, has announced details of the finalists for their 2019 National Care Home Awards.

The awards, which will form part of the National Care Home Conference and Exhibition, will take place on 15 November 2019 at the Hilton Hotel in Glasgow and recognise outstanding contributions from providers all over Scotland.

This year’s conference is titled ‘Essential Care: The Critical Role of Care Homes’ and will feature a range of renowned speakers and a number of practice-based insight sessions. Delegates will also have access to the annual exhibition which, with over 80 exhibitors, is the largest of its kind in Scotland.

The evening Awards Ceremony and Dinner provide an opportunity to celebrate the best practice among individuals and teams within the sector. The winners come from thirteen award categories and this years finalists are as follows:

Ancillary & Support Staff Award

  • Jackie Kennedy – Erskine Park Home
  • Christine Massie – Fordmill Nursing Home
  • Anne Hughes – Morningside Care Home, Wishaw

Nutrition and Eating Well Award

  • lain Young – Murrayside Care Home
  • Lizzy McNielage – Rumbling Bridge Care Home
  • Marie Hunter – Thorntoun Estate Nursing Home

Meaningful Activity Award

  • Sheila Baxter – Beech Manor Care Home
  • Erskine Care Team – Erskine Park/The Erskine Home
  • Activity Team – Charnwood Lodge Care Home

Training, Learning and Staff Development Award

  • Lynn Hewetson – Erskine Park Home
  • Bandrum Management – Bandrum Nursing Home
  • Margaret Campbell – Blair Buidhe Care Home

Emerging Talent Award

  • Ross Milne – The Birches
  • Ben Haddow – Balhousie, Luncarty
  • Anthony Mangonon – Berelands House Care Home

Management & Leadership Award

  • Kirsty Faulds – Kyle Court
  • Yvonne Manson – Balhousie Care Group
  • Teresa Mangonon – Berelands House Care Home

Palliative & End of Life Care Practice Award

  • Greencross Care Home
  • Eric Cordiner – Four Hills Care Home
  • Precious Time Project Team – Antonine House Care Home

Nurse of the Year Award

  • Jenny Coutts – Tor-Na-Dee Care Home
  • Linda Mason – Laurels Lodge Care Home
  • Moira Craig – Hatton Lea

Carer of the Year Award

  • Rosie Martinez – Jenny’s Well Care Home
  • Lavinia Tanu – Balhousie, Pitlochry
  • Vicky Purves – Murray House, Queens House Care Home

Specialist Service/Unit of the Year Award

  • The Oaks Care Home
  • Meadowview Unit – Bandrum Nursing Home
  • Jenny’s Well Care Home

Care Home Service of the Year Award

  • Morningside Care Home, Wishaw
  • Queens House (Kelso) Ltd.
  • Abbeyfield Ballachulish

Positive Impact Award

  • Pat Gibson – Braeside House
  • McLellan Unit – Douglas View
  • Diana Moles – Douglas View

The winners, along with the Outstanding Achievement Award, will be announced at the awards ceremony. For those interested in attending, tables can be booked by contacting: [email protected]